We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Four Named Narratives

by Jason Rubenstein



Four long-form, heavy instrumental songs, written in December of 2014 and produced over 2015 and 2016. Each song is a narrative; three are essays in the form of music. One is a short story.

There are two extra songs. One is a thank you and goodbye to the late, great Keith Emerson. One is a composition by guitarist Daniel van den Berg.

Heavy piano, synthesizers, samplers, bass guitar, and drums. This is not your usual heavy music. It defies convention and conventional wisdom, and trades 7 strings for 88.


released May 30, 2016

Jason Rubenstein: Keyboards and composition
Tom Hipskind: Drums
Shawn Sommer: Bass and Bass Synthesizer

(Bonus Track)
Veils in the Serpent Wind, Part II:
Daniel van den Berg: Guitars and composition
Mirko Borach: Bass
Tom Hipskind: Drums
Jason Rubenstein: Keyboards

Produced by Jason Rubenstein (ASCAP)
Published by Gearhead Music (ASCAP)

Artwork and Design by Toshi Onuki

All songs (c)(p) Gearhead Music, Tonecluster Music LLC, except for "The Barbarian", (c) Bela Bartok, Adaptation Emerson, Lake, Palmer (Music Sales Corp. OBO Leadchoice Ltd) and "Veils in the Serpent Wind, Part II", (c) Daniel van den Berg.


all rights reserved



Jason Rubenstein San Francisco, California

Jason is the keyboardist for the band The Hypersonic Factor.


He creates a range of music from ambient-groove to prog-fusion.

contact / help

Contact Jason Rubenstein

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account